New Holland The Poet Oatmeal Stout

“It smells kinda nutty, a little sweet, and kinda hoppy – just like you.”  What can I say?  We’ve been together long enough that he knows me well.

Stouts that aren’t alcohol barrel aged aren’t my favorite.  They’re generally too bitter and strong for me.  This one fell right in line.  While New Holland’s The Poet wasn’t bad enough to pour it out, I can’t imagine I’d ever reach for a glass of it again.

I initially picked up a lot of the roasted, nearly burnt, malt flavor.  It had no sweetness but wasn’t as biting as you’d expect.  Mister picked up some smoky almost ash-like flavors.  He compared it to biting into a charred bit of steak.  I disagree – I enjoy that crunchy nugget of beef.  I will say that the flavors are fairly round and if stouts are your thing, this one would surely fit the bill.

 

New Holland The Poet

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

