Here’s to you AB~

The world is a little less bright today.  A former student of mine passed away in his sleep last night.  AB was an amazing spirit.  He was the kind of kid that always had a smile on his face, was always joking and laughing, the kind of kid you couldn’t be around without smiling and laughing, too.

AB had deschenes muscular dystrophy.  By the time I got to know AB he had limited use of his hands and arms and nothing below that.  He was on a ventilator and used a motorized wheel chair to get around.  Trust me, his disability didn’t stop him.  He plowed through 8th grade with a smile.  I loved to run into him in the halls or have him stop by my room for a little help with his math.  It always made me feel better and I walked away with a little more spring in my step.  You couldn’t help it.  His laugh was infectious.

A very good friend, also AB’s one-on-one aide, called this morning and told me he’d passed in the night.  While death was certain for AB, this was completely unexpected.  I think we all expected a series of problems in a downward spiral before AB left us.  Thankfully, this wasn’t the case.  AB had a great day Friday and left school just like he always did.  His mom cooked his favorite dinner on Saturday and the family had a great day.  When they woke up this morning, AB had left his body here and gone on to bigger and better things.

My heart breaks for his parents.  His mother once said that her goal for him was to graduate high school.  AB left us 4 months too early for that wish to come true.

Thank you, AB, for your infectious smile and giggle.  Thank you for reminding me there’s always time for a laugh.  You will be missed but never forgotten.

Leave a Reply

