Orange Creamsicle Cookies

IMG_0609

I’ve been looking at pinterest.  I know.  It gets me in more trouble than a little bit.  I’d seen a number of “cake mix cookie” recipes.  I was intrigued.

Could they be that easy?

Could they be that good?

I had to try.  This afternoon I was shopping with Little Bug and Ahma (my mom).  I grabbed two cake mixes for “eventually” when I wanted to bake.  Tonight is “eventually”.  I know – I didn’t waste any time did I?

Mister is working late tonight and I got Little Bug to bed early.  What to do?  I’m feeling crafty (never good), bake-ish, and feisty   Have a glass of wine and bake!  When is that not a good idea?

I went back to pinterest and found this this recipe and ran.

IMG_0604

Cookie Ingredients:

1 box Duncan Hines Orange Supreme Cake Mix

1/2 cup oil

2 eggs

1 tsp dried orange peel + 1 Tbs hot water (optional – I like this one)

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:IMG_0605

Preheat oven to 350 or 325 if using dark cookie sheets.

Mix egg and oil until well combined.  It will get lighter in color and be frothy.

If using it, add rehydrated orange peel.  Dump in cake mix.  Mix well.  It will be quite thick.

IMG_0606Drop dough by teaspoons onto a greased or non-stick cookie sheet approximately 2 inches apart.  I used a small cookie scoop (the one with 60 on the little sweeper).

Bake for 6 minutes and rotate the pan (front to back, top rack to bottom rack if using 2 sheets).  Bake another 6 minutes.  Cookies should be lightly set and golden brown on the bottom.

Remove from oven and immediately and gently move to a cooling rack.

Glaze  #1-IMG_0607

2.5 oz powdered sugar (approximately 2/3 cup)

1 Tbsp. Half-and-half, heavy cream, or milk

While cookies are baking, mix together powdered sugar and liquid in a small bowl.  It may be a bit lumpy and should be fairly thick.  Let sit until cookies are out of the oven.  Once you remove cookies to the cooling rack, place rack in a cool cookie sheet (to catch the drips).  Drip glaze on cookies with glaze #1 while cookies are still hot.  The glaze will thin a bit and turn opaque.  Immediately mix glaze #2 and let cookies cool approximately 5 minutes.IMG_0608

Glaze #2 –

2.5 oz powdered sugar (approximately 2/3 cup)

1 tsp. Half-and-half, heavy cream, or milk

Once cookies have cooled slightly, apply glaze #2.  Stir it well until there are no lumps.  It should be quite thick.  This glaze will sit up better and stay whiter than the last glaze.  Let cool completely.

These cookies remind me of what I remember push-ups tasting like when I was a kid.  They’re orange-y and the half-and-half in the glaze kicks in the creamy taste.  I ended up leaving out the white chocolate chips because Mister doesn’t like them and I made these for him to take to work tomorrow.  The vanilla flavor would give the cookies an extra creamy taste and a nice texture, too.

By my calculations, they’re around 80 calories each – I ended up with 43 cookies in my batch.  You can’t beat that!

Enjoy!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

