Roasted Cabbage Wedges

It’s St. Patty’s day.  No, I’m not Irish (as far as I know).  No, I’m not drinking green anything today.  No, I’m not having corned beef and cabbage, though I do love the meal. I did, however, buy 2 heads of cabbage at the store yesterday.  Who can beat 24¢/pound?  What to make with all that green?

I put a pork roast in the crock pot that I’ll turn into pork carnitas tacos later this week.  I top them with fresh-made pico de gallo and thinly sliced cabbage (winner, winner, taco dinner!).  I shredded half of the head to eat this week.  The other half stood, well, sat, staring back at me.  I vaguely remembered a pinterest recipe I’d seen a long time ago about roasting wedges of cabbage.  I distinctly remember you had to leave the core in so that the wedges didn’t fall apart.  Who needs a recipe?  I roast vegetables all the time!

This turned out to be one of my favorite ways to eat cabbage – though I don’t think I’ve found a way (yet) that I don’t eat it – boiled and topped with vinegar or butter, fried in bacon grease (with or without vinegar), combined with noodles, butter and cream, as part of boiled dinner, cole slaw, etc.

IMG_0610

Ingredients:

1/2 large or 1 small head of cabbage, dark green outer leaves removed

olive oil

sea salt

 

Preheat oven to 375° Cut the cabbage in half through the core.  Cut the halves into wedges.  I did 5 or 6 wedges.  Be sure that each piece has some core attached so the leaves don’t fall apart.  Grease a cookie sheet with olive oil (I use a misto sprayer).  Lay cabbage wedges in a single layer on the sheet and spray the top side of the wedge lightly with cooking spray (again I used the misto sprayer with olive oil in it).  Sprinkle with salt.  Bake 35-45 minutes turning every 10-15, or until both sides of the cabbage wedges are dark brown.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

