Quick Coconut Cream Pie

Mister loves pie.  Mister.  LOVES.  Pie.  There were a few years where we had birthday pie.  He isn’t picky.  Marie Calendar’s?  Yes.  My mom’s? Yes.  His mom’s?  Mine?

Well, I’ve only ever made two pies in my life, both in the last year.  Why?  I don’t know.  I guess I just lean toward pies and cookies.  I’ve made a few crumbles and crisps but I just haven’t ventured out to pie.  It may be that I really don’t like pie crust.  I eat it.  I just don’t love it.  As a kid my mom would take the extra pieces of crust, cut them into shapes (or strips), sprinkle them with cinnamon sugar, and bake them  Those I LOVE.  It’s different.  Don’t ask me why but it is.

I don’t know what struck me yesterday but I wanted to make coconut cream pie.  No surprise I didn’t want a traditional crust.  But what to put under coconut cream?  Graham cracker would be ok.  Chocolate not so much.  I wanted sweet but not too sweet.  I wanted crunchy.  Vanilla wafers.  Yes!

I found this recipe on pinterest.  I used powdered sugar instead of brown sugar because it’s what I had.  I left out the cinnamon.  I don’t know if I’ve told you but Little Bug is very allergic to cinnamon.  Weird, I know, but true none the less.  While her last exposure was to a tiny amount and she ended up with hives all over her body, it hasn’t turned to anaphylaxis – yet.  Just to be safe we have epi-pens for her.  It can be a pain sometimes.  My mom managed to cook up a pretty great pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving that left out the cinnamon.  Kudos to her.  I think we ate 3 or 4 “tries” before she figured it out. For this pie crust, it just wasn’t worth it.  No cinnamon was fine.

I used a big box of vanilla pudding, cutting the milk down from 3 cups to 2 cups.  I mixed in a cup of shredded coconut.  This went neatly into the pre-baked and cooled crust.

The topping was the easiest part.  I took a container of whipped topping from the freezer, thawed it, and threw it in a piping bag.  Pretty.  Easy.  Delicious.

I had planned on taking a picture of the completed pie with one piece gone so you could see it in all its glory.  The best laid plans…  as I was taking my piece out of the plate, it did a back flip right onto the pie.  Use your imagination on this one!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

