Crock Pot Swiss Steak

It’s no secret I love too cook.  It only makes sense that I love to eat.  What do I love more than that?  Making something amazingly easy that tastes like you spent hours slaving over a hot stove.

How do I manage it?  My crock pot.  I couldn’t live without it – without them – any of them.  People laugh when I say I own so many I quit counting.  *cough* nine *cough*  Seriously.  Before you ask, yes, I use them all.  No, not usually at the same time.  I often have two going at the same time, though.  They keep mashed potatoes hot on a holiday.  There’s no better way to serve sloppy joes.  Soup?  Who needs a stock pot?  I almost always make soup in my crock pot.  They are one of the workhorses in my kitchen.

A year ago we bought 1/4 of a cow.  It’s a lot of meat.  A LOT.  But since we had a big freezer that was nearly empty, it was a really good deal and a teacher that works with me raised the cow.  Did I mention it was a lot of meat?  Have you ever seen 40 lbs of hamburger in one place other than the store?  And that was just my share…

Needless to say we’ve been eating well.  We’re down to about 5 lbs of ground beef but I had a lot of round steak to use.  Where’d I turn for recipes?  Pinterest of course!  Most of them pointed to a mix of cream soup, french onion soup mix, and water.  As always, I used what I had and what sounded good.  I was a bit apprehensive because I’d tried this recipe a year ago and it was horrible but I tried cooking the steak from frozen.  We ate it for one meal and I threw the left overs out.  Yeah, it was that bad.  Make sure your beef is thawed if it’s frozen.  It makes a BIG difference.

This time, it was delicious.  It reminded me of the swiss steak my mom used to make when I was a kid – the only difference being she used cube steak, fried it, toiled over the stove to make gravy, then baked it forever.  I didn’t say it was AS good, but for the work involved, I will eat this a whole lot more than I’ll spend the time to make that.

I added fresh mushrooms because they were on sale today and looked great.  You could also use 2 cans of mushrooms that you drain well or leave them out completely if you don’t like them.  You could also add extra onions.  I didn’t want to kill the dish with onions – I know odd for me – but between the fresh onion and the cream of onion soup, it was just perfect (for me).

Enjoy!

IMG_2049

3 lbs round or cube steak

1 can cream of onion soup

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 package french onion soup mix

1 onion, sliced

1/4 cup water or beef broth

1 8oz package white mushrooms, sliced

splash of wine (optional – I used dry vermouth)

salt and pepper

In a hot pan, brown steaks, approximately 2 minutes each side.  Set aside.  This step is optional but I highly encourage it.  Anne Burrel says, “Brown food tastes good!” and she’s right!

While steaks are browning, mix soups and soup mix in the bottom of a crock pot.  Once mixed, add onions and browned steaks to crock pot.

Deglaze the hot pan  with water or beef broth and scrape the bottom to get all the bits.  Pour over steaks in crock pot.

Cook on low 3 hours.

Add mushrooms and wine.  Stir.  Cook on low another 3-4 hours or until beef is tender.

Serve over potatoes or rice.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Crock Pot Swiss Steak

  1. Lukraakvars says:

    OH MY SOUL!!!!!! that looks and sounds so tasty!! Thanx for sharing.

Leave a Reply

