Individual Oreo cheesecakes

20140223-211705.jpg

It is no secret I usually cook a lot on Sunday. I knew I didn’t have a ton of time today as Little Bug had a birthday party to go to today.
I wanted to bake something. More specifically I wanted to bake bread but I knew I didn’t have that kind of time. I also knew I has about half a package of whole Oreos plus some extra crumbs. I had also taken some cream cheese out of the freezer for mister on Friday that he didn’t use. What do you get when you put it together?

These. Yes they are as good as they look.
The nice thing is that they are only 150 calories each but I could eat them all. I did manage to wait until I wouldn’t burn myself before I ate one but they really were best once they were really cold.
Unusual for me but I didn’t make many changes – only one actually. I swapped plain yogurt for vanilla Greek. It was what I had on hand and it worked beautifully.
I will be making these again (and again). I love that they are an individual portion – great for both my own portion control and for group gatherings. No more messy knives laying around! If you wanted to fancy them up a bit for a party, top them with a bit of whipped cream (I believe in the real stuff sweetened slightly but have been known to use a can of whipped heavy cream in a pinch) and sprinkle with a few more cookie crumbs. They would be great with a streak of strawberry sauce, too.
Enjoy!

20140223-211650.jpg

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Individual Oreo cheesecakes

  1. Can you see me salivating? YESSS.
    God I badly wanna learn to bake! I’m tired of roasting chicken and making pasta. HAHA! πŸ˜€

    Drop by my blog too if you have time! πŸ™‚ http://www.worldofsinistrality.wordpress.com

    • ridgiemama says:

      You can learn to bake! Baking isn’t like cooking – it’s a science, not an art. Well, it’s an art but recipes are a science. It’s important that you follow a recipe when you bake. I find that weighing ingredients vs. measuring them really helps. Most of the things that I make aren’t that big of a deal, but a little extra this or too little of that and you end up with a flat mess instead of something beautiful. Try these out – they’re pretty forgiving- and let me know how it goes.

      • I usually don’t follow procedures and prefer making my own adjustments. This makes me illegible to bake…for now! Would need a lot of patience and self control though before I could start making ones as good as yours!

Leave a Reply

