Sweet Potato Bisque

Mister saw a recipe…
Isn’t that where it all begins? He wasn’t sure where. He wasn’t sure what magazine. It was for bisque. Sweet potato bisque. Roasted sweet potatoes at that. “How hard could it be?” He asked.
As it turns out, not hard at all. I roast sweet potatoes all the time. It wasn’t much harder.
I did use an immersion blender for mine. You could use a food processor or blender and do small batches until it was the consistency you wanted. If you didn’t want it smooth, YIU could just simmer the bediddly out of it until the potatoes break down. Your choice and any way you choose will be good.

Just a disclaimer – I am a sweet potato purist. I don’t want ANYTHING on them. No salt. No butter. No cinnamon. No marshmallows. Not even fried. Either roasted with a bit of olive oil or baked and mashed plain. I know – it’s sacrilegious but it is the only way I eat them.
I actually didn’t think I liked sweet potatoes until my mid twenties. I was helping my mom make a casserole for thanksgiving and something possessed me to lick the spoon after mashing the sweet potatoes. They were so good! We added butter and I tried them again. They were a no go. From there on out I eat them plain. Hey… It is a lot less calories…

2 lbs sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced
3 Tbs olive oil
4 cups broth (chicken or vegetable)
1 cup heavy cream
1 tsp
2-3 cups water

Preheat oven to 350. Soak potatoes in water for 5 minutes. Drain and pat dry. Add to plastic zip-top bag. Add oil to potatoes, zip bag, and mix well until potatoes are coated.
Place in an even layer on cookie sheets. Bake at 350 turning as necessary until both sides are well browned, removing as necessary.
While potatoes are roasting, begin warming 2 cups broth in a large stock pot. As potatoes are browned, drop in the simmering stock. Add stock as necessary. Once all potatoes are in the pot, begin to use a spoon to lightly mash potatoes. Add salt and more broth if needed. It should be fairly soupy and will thicken as potatoes break down.
Simmer 20 minutes.
Add cream and stir. Use immersion blender or other method to purée soup. Add water to desired consistency.

Serving suggestion: top with bacon, scallions, cheese, or homemade croutons

20140223-213855.jpg

Tagged

Leave a Reply

