Thanksgivings 2016

They say old habits die hard.  As for me, this is true.  I still have to write my rough draft and revise it – I just do a lot of it in my head.  I think I’ve written this post about 20 times so far and has taken as many shapes and forms.  While I  for simplicity, it’s not going to be a short post.  This list is in no way comprehensive.  I could type for a very long time and still not be done.  It is apparent to me, and hopefully you, that we are incredibly blessed in many, many ways.  Grab a cup of coffee, a steaming mug of tea, or a beer, and enjoy the ride.

This year I am thankful for so many things (in no particular order):

  • Our daughter’s health.  After watching my friend’s 10-year-old daughter battle bone cancer, and all that comes with it, I have never been more thankful for health.  I can’t begin to tell you all that they’ve been through but I’m a proud member of #mckennassquad.  You can read more and follow their journey here.
  • My health and the health of my family. See above – just because McKenna is 10, it could easily have been any of us.  My sister-in-law is celebrating her first cancer-free milestones.  My dad is 81 – enough said.
  • Our daughter.  She is caring, kind, compassionate, intelligent, funny, sensitive, sweet, and sassy, all rolled up into one beautiful package.  She never fails to amaze us with her unique perspective.  We love to you to the moon and back.epcot_fwrover_20160630_7731311236
  • That I learned young family is more than blood.
  • That Tim and I have a huge village to help us raise Alexandra.  We couldn’t possibly do it without you.
  • That Tim and I get to be a part of all of your villages, too.
  • Our family.  Enough said.
  •  That the people I work with aren’t just colleagues, they are true friends and family.  There are around 40 of us in my building and we have endured more than our share of tragedy over the last few years.  Some days our job is more than any three people could handle, let alone one person.  We prop each other up, cry together, laugh together, go home to our families, and come back to do it all again the next day.  I seriously couldn’t have done this job for so long if it weren’t for each and every one of you.14391023_10209164449642487_463859200522357381_n
  • The amazing people that surround Alexandra and her peers every day at school.  If I had to imagine the ideal place to send her, these people embody that, from the principal to the teachers to the classroom aides to the volunteers.  They are truly the most kind, compassionate, and caring educators I have ever met.  I have no worries when we drop her off each day that she is being taken care of in the best way possible.img_5610
  • My two ageing dogs.  Even though they’re senior citizens and mostly sleep all day, I still love the doggie things they do.  I love that Magda still sleeps outside of Alexandra’s bedroom door each night.  I love that at 12, Milton has learned how to nudge your arm with his nose if you haven’t petted him enough.  I love the sounds they both make when they dream.  I smile when for a minute, they run in the backyard like they’re 3 again.img_4679
  • Having a garage door that works.  Ours broke this week and having to park in the driveway, walk to the front door, and actually use a key reminded me of how spoiled I am.
  • Being able to make Alexandra’s “dream come true” and take her to Disney this summer.  It was an awesome trip.  We made so many amazing memories. studio_stdentr2_20160630_7731599651
  • Finding LuLaRoe clothes.  I get to look really nice but feel like I’m wearing pajama pants and a night-shirt.  Some of the groups on Facebook are really fun to be a part of, too.fullsizeoutput_2017
  • Nerdy friends who get my jokes like this:i-ate-some-pi
  • For having not only enough, but an abundance, and the ability to share.
  • For perspective, as sometimes that’s all we need.
  • A husband who loves me not matter what.  He loves me at my best, my worst, and everywhere in between.  He laughs with me (and sometimes at me), wipes my tears when I cry, and supports every crazy idea I have.  He knows how to help me soar and when to drag me back to earth.  For over 16 years of building our life together, we’ve done ok.img_5013
  • For struggle – what have we learned when things were easy?
  • Alcohol – let’s face it, sometimes that glass of wine at the end of the day is like a light at the end of the tunnel.
  • Leftovers – or we’d be hungry lots of nights.  Ok, so not hungry but we’d spend a TON more on either take out or fast food and we do enough of that already.
  • My students – they never cease to amaze me.  They teach me as much or more than I teach them.  They’ve forced me to open my mind and made me a better teacher and a better person overall.
  • All of the “happy thanksgiving” texts I’ve received so far today – and it’s just past 10 am.
  • You – because if you’re reading this, somehow you must be a part of my life.  Thank you and I love you.

ralph-turkey

Leave a Reply

